WhatsApp to change ‘delete for everyone’ feature: Report

It seems that WhatsApp will soon make changes to its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature. The latest report by WaBetaInfo suggests that the company may extend the deadline for this feature.

The ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature was originally introduced in 2017. It is currently one of the most useful and important features that the messaging service has offered to its users. This option saves anyone the embarrassment if they accidentally sent the wrong message to a group or individual chat.

WhatsApp had earlier introduced this feature with a time limit of seven minutes and a few months later it was extended to over an hour. As per the screenshot shared by WABetaInfo, it now seems that the company may extend the deadline for this feature indefinitely.

The cited source reported that the new development was found in the v2.21.23.1 Android beta version of WhatsApp. The report also states that the feature is still under development, and users should not get too excited about this new update until it becomes available to all beta testers. The cited source did not confirm when the feature might be released to users.

At present, WhatsApp users get only one hour to delete messages from personal and group chats in messaging chats. Once a message is deleted, the app displays a notification in the chat window that says “This message was deleted.” However, there are ways to check deleted WhatsApp messages as well.

Apart from this, WABetaInfo also suggested that the iOS version of WhatsApp is getting a new video playback interface. This will allow one to pause or play the video in fullscreen or close the picture-in-picture (PiP) window. This feature is already visible to some people who are using the v2.21.220.15 iOS beta version of the app. This feature was rolled out for Android users in October.

.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *