IND vs NZ: Kane Williamson will miss T20I series against India, Tim Southee captains New Zealand in the first match. cricket news

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will miss the Twenty20 International (T20I) series against India to focus on the following Test series, starting in Kanpur from November 25. The New Zealand Cricket Board on Monday announced the T20 squad for the series in India, with pacer Tim Southee named as the captain for the opening match on November 17 in Williamson’s absence. “BlackCaps captain Kane Williamson will miss the three-match T20I series against India this week as he will prioritize preparation for the Test series starting November 25 in Kanpur,” NZC said in a statement.

“After the first match of the T20 series on Wednesday evening, following the matches played on Friday and Sunday nights, Williamson has been decided to join the Test specialist squad, who are already training in Jaipur,” the statement said. Because they are concentrating on preparing for the red ball.” Reading.

Tim Southee will captain the T20I squad for the opening game on Wednesday, while Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips and Mitchell Santner are also available for both series. Lockie Ferguson’s recovery from a right shin-strain continues well And he is expected to be available for the T20 series.”

New Zealand will play a three-match T20I series, starting from Wednesday, November 17 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. The second T20I will be played on Friday at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, while the third and final T20I will be hosted at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

The T20I series will be followed by a two-match Test series, the second match of which will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from December 3.

New Zealand’s team reached Jaipur on Monday evening after participating in the T20 World Cup final played in Dubai on Sunday. New Zealand lost to Australia by eight wickets at the Dubai International Stadium.


Williamson had a stellar performance with the bat in the final for the Kiwis, scoring 85 off just 48 balls, but it was not enough as Mitchell Marsh and David Warner scored half-centuries to help the Aussies win their first Men’s T20 World Cup. Guide to the title.

New Zealand T20 Team: Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Topics mentioned in this article


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *