Google Photos may be looking for a way to hide pictures of others on your phone from theirs, using the app’s native Locked Folders feature. It lets you hide your pictures and videos in a passcode-protected location. This will allow you to hide your media content when someone views photos and videos saved on Google Photos or any other app on your phone. You can also move your existing pictures to a locked folder in Google Photos to protect them from your device’s screen lock.
Introduced in May, Locked Folders was initially available as an exclusive feature for Google Pixel phones. However, Google announced in late October that the feature would be rolled out to all Android users in the coming future. It will reach iOS users early next year.
Pictures hidden in locked folders will not appear in Google Photos Grid, Memories, Search, or Albums. You also won’t be able to find them in any other installed app that has access to your regular photos and videos.
In this article, we are detailing the steps required to set up a locked folder to hide your pictures in Google Photos.
How to set up a locked folder and hide your photos in Google Photos
Before starting the tutorial, it’s important to note that the experience is currently limited to the Google Pixel 3 and later models. So, if you have an eligible device, you can go ahead and follow the steps below to set up the locked folders feature on Google Photos to hide your pictures. Make sure your phone has the latest version of Google Photos installed.
go for Library , utilities and then tap set locked folder,
Google Photos will now show you a screen detailing the features of the Locked Folders feature. Tap set locked folder To move forward.
Now, use the screen lock option of your current device, which can be either fingerprint unlock, pattern, alphanumeric password or numeric PIN to set the locked folder.
Once these steps are followed successfully and setup is complete, you can move your existing pictures and videos to the locked folder by tapping move item the option. This will show you all the media content available on your device.
After selecting pictures to go to Locked Photos, you’ll receive a prompt with a message notifying that the transferred item will no longer be backed up or shared and that it will be available on your Google Photos grid, search, and more. Won’t show up in apps. You can proceed with your selection by hitting Step,
It’s worth pointing out that pictures you hide in a locked folder won’t be backed up or shared via Google Photos. Plus, people who have access to unlock your device’s screen can unlock the locked folder on the app and view hidden media files.
Pictures placed in a locked folder can also be moved back by selecting the folder and tapping Step Button.
For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 Twitter, Facebook, and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and tech, subscribe to our YouTube channel.
Xiaomi soundbar 3.1ch teased, will come with wireless subwoofer, 430W output